vertical divider

Larry Neal Prize for Excellence in EU Scholarship

Larry NealIn honor of Professor Emeritus of Economics Larry Neal, the founding director of the European Union Center at the University of Illinois, the EUC is excited to announce the call for nominations for the “Larry Neal Prize for Excellence in EU Scholarship.” Thanks to the generous funding from the European Commission, the Center is soliciting submissions of both books and articles that address current issues faced by the European Union and in Transatlantic relations. Submissions are encouraged from all disciplinary fields.

Call for nominations for 2014 Competition.
Deadline for submissions: December 1, 2014


Nominations may be submitted by publishers, authors, and colleagues. The submissions will be evaluated by a rotating committee of representatives from the EUCE network. The winning author(s) will receive an invitation to the University of Illinois campus for recognition and to present a lecture on the selected work. The EUC will feature the winner on our website and in Center publications. Please submit at least one hard copy and one digital copy of nominated publications to the EU Center, specified below.


Please send all hard copy submissions to:

“Larry Neal Prize”
University of Illinois European Union Center
328 International Studies Building
910 S. Fifth St.
Champaign, IL 61820

Please email a digital copy to: eucenter@illinois.edu

Larry Neal Prize Recipients

2013: Dr. Carolyn Ban [press release]
Lecture Presentation: "Management and Culture in an Enlarged European Commission: From Diversity to Unity?" September 12, 2014
Honorable Mention: Dr. Joan DeBardeleben (Carleton University) and Dr. Crina Viju (Carleton University) for their co-edited book, Economic Crisis in Europe: What It Means for the EU and Russia

2012: Dr. George Ross [press release]
Video of Lecture Presentation: "The Euro-Zone Crisis: Glasses Half-Full or Broken?" September 20, 2013

2011: Dr. Katerina Linos [press release]
Video of Lecture Presentation: "Diffusion through Democracy" October 5, 2012